University of Houston Libraries, Special Collections

Guide to the UH Investiture Collection

Overview of the Collection

Creator University of Houston
Collection Title UH Investiture Collection
Dates 1962-2008
Identification 2015-020
Physical Description 0.25 Linear Feet
Language of Materials English
Repository University of Houston Libraries
M.D. Anderson Library, 4333 University Drive, Houston, TX, 77204-2000, URL:, Phone: 713-743-9750

Scope and Contents

This artificial collection was created to bring together materials related to the investiture of Presidents and Chancellors at the University of Houston. Materials include programs, invitations, lists of delegates, press coverage, and administrative information related to the production of the investiture ceremony. Presidents covered include Renu Khator, Philip Guthrie Hoffman, Charles Edwin Bishop, and Arthur K. Smith.


Conditions Governing Access:

Open for research

Conditions Governing Use:

The material in this collection is in the public domain. Reproduction decisions will be made by Special Collections staff on a case-by-case basis.

Access Terms

This Collection is indexed under the following controlled access subject terms.
Corporate Name:
University of Houston -- Administration
Genre/Form of Material:
Programs (documents)
Publications (document genre)
Topical Term:
Academic rites and ceremonies

Separated Material

Some materials donated simultaneously were separated to form the Lawrence Curry Core Curriculum Advisory and UH Self-Study Records (2015-021).

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation:

UH Investiture Collection. Special Collections, University of Houston Libraries. To cite a specific item from this collection, please consult the most recent edition of your style manual for the proper formatting.

Acquisition Information:

Donated by Professor Lawrence Curry, 2015

Detailed List of Contents

Box Folder
1 1 Renu Khator - Investiture program, UH magazine fall 2008

Box Folder
1 2 Investiture materials related to Khator, Hoffman, Bishop, and Smith 1962-2008