Texas A&M University Kingsville, South Texas Archives

Charles E. Pulliam Sound Recordings Collection

Collection Summary

Creator Charles E. Pulliam collected the phonographs
Title Charles E. Pulliam Sound Recordings Collection
Dates: 1930 - 1949
Abstract: The Charles E. Pulliam Sound Records Collections consists of 36 78 RPM recordings of popular music during the 1930s through the 1940s. Two of the titles of the recordings include Voice of the Mountain Land by J. R. Thomas and The Clang of the Forge by Paul Rodney.
Identification A1949-007
Collection URL http://archives.tamuk.edu/ead.php?xml=Pulliam%20EAD
Quantity: 1 linear feet
Location: G-6-3 Boxes 1 & 2
Language: English

Historical Note

Charles E. Pulliam was a local citizen of Kingsville, TX. The phonograph records were donated to John Conner Museum by Charles E. Pulliam on March 15, 1949. The recordings were transferred to the South Texas Archives on July 2, 1990.

Scope and Contents

The collection consists of 36 sound recordings, 78 RPM records, containing popular music of the 1930s to 1940s.


The recordings are arranged in folders by title.

Index Terms

Pulliam, Charles E.
Rodney, Paul
Texas College of Arts and Industries
Texas A&M University-Kingsville
Geographical Names
Kingsville (Tex.)
Texas, South
Sound recordings
Popular music -- 20th century